Active Roster



2018 Deana's Wish Memorial Scholarship

Thank you to all the applicants that have applied.


Application Deadline:  postmarked by March 1, 2018

The Deana's Wish Memorial Scholarship is a private scholarship program established by the DLH Foundation in memory of Deana LaRae Hamilton Hughes. The program annually grants scholarships of up to $2,000 to college students affected by gastro-esophageal cancers in their families.  

The DLH Foundation's mission is to Create A Community for A Cure for Gastro-esophageal Cancers.

Please read these instructions carefully before completing the application.

Scholarship Eligibility Requirements

Applicant has been diagnosed with, or have an immediate family member (parent, grandparent, sibling, child)
who has been affected by esophageal or stomach cancer?

U.S. Citizen entering or continuing college in the 2018-2019 academic year

Maintained a minimum cumulative Grade Point Average of 3.0.

SAT score of at least 1500 or/an ACT score of at least 21.

Provide one or more letters of recommendations

Essay topic:  "How your life has been affected by these cancers".

Submit a video via email of the applicant reading his/her essay
(if c ompleted, "Deana" is pronounced "Dee-nuh")

Optional - you may submit your written essay.

Application Requirements:

Applications are complete and valid only when ALL documents have been submitted.
Please do not staple documents together.  Incomplete applications will be disqualified.  
Before you mail your application package, verify that you have enclosed the following information:

  • Application
  • Official transcript(s) in an offical and sealed envelope
  • Email your video of applicant reading the essay
  • Essay:  typed one-page or email a video of applicant reading essay
  • One letter of recommendation
  • Letter from a medical doctor confirming type of cancer and connection to applicant
    Copy of Death Certificate
  • Copy of your FASFA

Last year 14 deserving students received scholarships!

Complete and submit an application to the DLH Foundation by March 1, 2018.

Questions?  Contact Denise Ross at (760) 705-3055 or


Schools attended by Deana's Wish Memorial Scholarship recipients include:

Claremont McKenna College * University of California, Santa Barbara * San Diego State University * 
Quinni Piac University * Texas A & M University * Occidental College * Missouri State Universit *
Texas Tech University * Western New England University * The Ohio State University *
Palomar College * Florida Southwestern College * Georgia College & State University *
Loyola Marymount University * Western Governors University * California School of Law *
The College of St. Scholastica * Weber State University * California State University, Fullerton * 

    Contact Information

    The DLH Foundation

    221 W. Crest Street, Suite 300

    Escondido, California 92025

    (760) 705-3055

    Copyright © 2015-2016

    Connect with us:

    The DLH Foundation has Tax-Exempt Status as a Private Operating Foundation described in Sections 501(c)(3) and 4942(j)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, making contributions tax-deductible for federal tax purposes. Federal Tax ID No. 26-4540063