Active Roster



2018 Deana's Wish Memorial Scholarship - Returning Applicants



CLICK HERE for 2018 Application for Returning Applicants.

Application Deadline:  postmarked by March 1, 2018

The Deana's Wish Memorial Scholarship is a private scholarship program established by the DLH Foundation in memory of Deana LaRae Hamilton Hughes. The program annually grants scholarships of up to $2,000 to college students affected by gastro-esophageal cancers in their families.  

The DLH Foundation's mission is to Create A Community for A Cure for Gastro-esophageal Cancers. We provide the Deana's Wish Memorial Scholarship to college students affected by these cancers in their families.

Please read these instructions carefully before completing the application.

Scholarship Eligibility Requirements

Returning Applicant has been diagnosed with, or have an immediate family member (spouse, parent, grandparent, sibling or child) who has been affected by esophageal or stomach cancer?

U.S. Citizen entering or continuing college in the 2018-2019 academic year

Maintained a minimum cumulative Grade Point Average of 3.0.

Provide one or more letters of recommendations

Essay topic for returning applicants:   “What do you plan to do as a DLH Foundation Ambassador to
raise awareness about gastro-esophageal cancer and the Deana’s Wish Memorial Scholarship.”

Submit a video via email of the applicant reading his/her essay or mail essay with application.
("Deana" is pronounced "Dee-nuh")

Application Requirements:

Applications are complete and valid only when ALL documents have been submitted.
Please do not staple documents together.  Incomplete applications will be disqualified.  
Before you mail your application package, verify that you have enclosed the following information:

  • Application
  • Official transcript(s) in an offical and sealed envelope.  (they may be sent direct from your school)
  • Email your video of applicant reading the essay
  • Essay:  typed one-page or email a video of applicant reading essay
  • At least one letter of recommendation
  • Copy of your FASFA

Last year 23 deserving students received scholarships!

Complete and submit an application to the DLH Foundation by March 1, 2018.

Questions?  Contact Denise Ross at (760) 705-3055 or

Schools attended by Deana's Wish Memorial Scholarship recipients include:

Claremont McKenna College * Clemson University * Creighton University * CSU Humboldt * Iowa State University * Mercy College of Health Sciences * Palomar College * Quinnipiac University * South Dakota State University * St. Olaf College * Stanford University * UC Berkeley * UC Los Angeles * UC Santa Barbara * UC Santa Cruz * University of Arkansas * University of Central Florida * University of Georgia * University of Massachusetts * University of North Texas * University of South Florida * University of Washington * Western New England University

    Contact Information

    The DLH Foundation

    221 W. Crest Street, Suite 300

    Escondido, California 92025

    (760) 705-3055

    Copyright © 2015-2018

    Connect with us:

    The DLH Foundation has Tax-Exempt Status as a Private Operating Foundation described in Sections 501(c)(3) and 4942(j)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, making contributions tax-deductible for federal tax purposes. Federal Tax ID No. 26-4540063